Arkansas Rent Increase Laws

Arkansas Rent Increase Laws

Last Updated: January 2, 2024 by Jessica Menefee

Rent Increase Facts Answer
Reason Needed? No
Maximum Amount None
Required Notice
  • Week-to-Week: 7 Days
  • Month-to-Month: 1 Month

Does Arkansas Have Rent Control Laws?

Arkansas does not have rent control laws limiting the amount that landlords may ask for. State law prohibits local governments from establishing rent control laws.

Read More

When Can a Landlord Raise Rent in Arkansas?

Landlords in Arkansas can raise the rent at any time, as long as they comply with the following:

  • Wait until the end of the lease term (unless otherwise specified in the lease)
  • Aren’t raising rent for discriminatory or retaliatory reasons
  • Give reasonable notice


60 days before the end of a year-long lease, a landlord sends the tenant a notice that rent will increase by 5% if they choose to renew the lease.

When Can’t a Landlord Raise Rent in Arkansas?

Landlords in Arkansas may not raise the rent if:

  • It is done in response to a protected tenant action, such as filing a complaint. This is known as “retaliation.
  • It is during the middle of a lease’s fixed term (unless stated otherwise in the lease agreement).
  • The increase is applied in a way that discriminates against one of the protected classes specified in the Fair Housing Act.

How Often Can Rent Be Increased in Arkansas?

Landlords in Arkansas can increase the rent as often as they choose as long as they provide sufficient notice each time.

How Much Notice is Needed to Raise Rent in Arkansas?

In Arkansas, landlords cannot raise the rent during a lease term and must give one month’s notice to increase the rent to a month-to-month tenant or 7 days’ notice to a week-to-week tenant.

How Much Can a Landlord Raise Rent in Arkansas?

Arkansas landlords can raise the rent by any amount that they wish. There is no legal limit or cap on the amount of a rent increase.