Rent Increases & Fees in Minnesota

Last Updated: April 29, 2022 by Elizabeth Souza

In Minnesota, the regulation of rent is primarily governed by MN Stat. § 471.9996. Currently, certain cities and counties allow rent control; however, the rest of the state bans rent control, allowing landlords to set rent and increase it with proper notice.

Quick Facts
Rent Control In Certain Cities
Minimum Notice for Rent Increases 1 Month’s Notice
Max. Late Fee 8% of the Overdue Rent
Max. Bounced Check Fee $30

When Can a Landlord Increase Rent in Minnesota?

Unless language in the lease indicates otherwise, a Minnesota landlord may not increase the rent during a lease. A landlord may increase rent at any time when there is no lease, if the appropriate amount of notice is given. (Minn. Stat. 504B.147)

Questions? To chat with a Minnesota landlord tenant attorney, Click here

When Is It Illegal to Raise Rent in Minnesota?

It is illegal for a landlord to increase rent in retaliation for a tenant’s exercising his/her tenant rights. (MSA 504B.285 Subd. 3)

According to Federal Fair Housing Act, is also illegal for a Minnesota landlord to raise rent based on the age, race, religion, nation or origin, familial status, or disability status of a tenant.

Is There a Rent Increase Limit in Minnesota?

Minnesota does not legislate rent increases.

How Much Notice Is Needed for Raising Rent in Minnesota?

A landlord must provide a one-month’s notice before he/she may expect increased rent from an “at-will” tenant (Minnesota Requirements to Increase Rent).

For a FREE rent increase notice template, click here.

How Often Can Rent Be Increased in Minnesota?

Minnesota provides no legislation on the frequency of rent increases.

Laws Regarding Late Fees in Minnesota

A Minnesota landlord must disclose late fees in the written lease or a landlord should not collect a late fee. The lease must state when the landlord can collect a late fee and the exact amount of the fee. According to Minnesota law, the late fee cannot exceed 8% of the overdue rent payment. (Minn. Stat. 504B.177)

Laws Regarding Bounced Check Fees in Minnesota

A landlord may charge up to $30 for a bounced check. (MSA 604.113)

Minnesota Cities With Rent Control

Minnesota legislation preempts a local municipality’s ability to adopt any ordinance intended to control rent on private residential property unless the ordinance is approved by general election. (MSA 471.9996)

In November 2021, Minneapolis and Saint Paul voters approved rent control policies. In Minneapolis, they are currently working on passing an ordinance related to rent control.

Saint Paul ordinance will become effective on May 1, 2022. Rent increases on every rental unit and the maximum amount is 3% for every 12-month period. Additionally, the 3% applies to vacant units and a landlord cannot increase rent on a new tenant more than 3% over what the previous tenant paid in rent.