Grab a New Hampshire eviction notice template and read further to learn about what happens AFTER a notice is posted, how long the eviction process takes and other aspects of New Hampshire eviction law.
Click here to view/download the direct PDF file.
Types of Eviction Notices
Before full-fledged eviction proceedings can begin, New Hampshire requires that the landlord provide notice to indicate to the tenant, that there are problems that need to be addressed. There are three notice types – two of which are on the same document. These include the Non-Payment of Rent notice and the Non-Compliance notice, which are on the same document, and the 30-Day Notice to Quit (Month-to-Month). The non-payment notice checkbox carries with a seven-day notice period, and the non-compliance notification grants a 30-day period for the tenant to cure any issues before the judicial process begins. The final notice is exclusively for month-to-month renters, and it grants a full lease period’s worth of notice.
What Happens After a Notice is Posted
For those that pay rent late, the landlord must deliver a Demand for Rent and an Eviction Notice to his or her renter, which allows for the lessee seven days to cure the situation. After this period has elapsed or the 30 days have elapsed for the other notices, the landlord can file some forms at the local district court. These include the Landlord and Tenant Writ, the Affidavit of Damages and Settlement of Claim, the Affidavit of Ownership, or the Affidavit of Military Service. They must also file an Appearance Form in order to schedule a hearing. If the landlord wins the case, a Writ of Possession will be provided, which will facilitate a legal lock-out of the property.
When is Rent Due
The rent for any unit is going to be due on the first of the month or the day that is agreed upon by the tenant and the landlord in the original rental agreement. Once this date passes, the rent is officially considered to be late, and the five-day Notice to Quit for non-payment can be posted at any time.
How Long Does the Eviction Process Take
This depends on several factors. Eviction in New Hampshire can’t begin until the tenant has expired either the seven days allotted for non-payment or the 30 days allotted for other reasons. After this, an appearance in court is mandated. If the judge rules against the tenant, then they may also grant a discretionary stay according to their best judgment, which can allow the tenant to cure the situation within a one-month time period. If the judge opts to file a Writ of Possession, the tenant can also submit an appeal, but once the writ is delivered to the sheriff’s office, an eviction will happen. Typically, the process takes more than a month in New Hampshire.