Oklahoma Month-to-Month Lease Agreement

Last Updated: April 5, 2022 by Elizabeth Souza

An Oklahoma month-to-month lease agreement is a contract (written or oral) that allows a tenant to rent property from a landlord, in exchange for a fee (“rent”), for a period of thirty days at a time. The agreement remains active until either party gives proper notice to end it.

Note: For fixed term leases in Oklahoma (i.e., 1-year), click here.

How do Oklahoma Month-to-Month Lease Agreements Work?

A landlord and tenant can enter into a month-to-month lease through a written contract or oral agreement. It does not have to be written.

Once the lease is active, both parties are given full rights under Oklahoma landlord tenant law. This includes the landlord’s responsibility to provide a habitable living space, the tenant’s responsibility to pay rent in a timely manner and all other rights and responsibilities.

How Much Notice is Needed to End the Lease?

In Oklahoma, either party may terminate a month-to-month lease agreement by giving at least 30 days’ notice. Okla. Stat. tit. 41 § 111

Notice must be provided in written form.

How Much Notice is Needed to Raise the Rent?

In Oklahoma, the state provides no regulation of rent increases. Although there is no statute, it is customary for a landlord to provide a tenant with at least 30 days’ notice before increasing the rent.

Are There Notice Delivery Requirements?

In Oklahoma there are notice delivery requirements. In the case of the tenant, the notice must be served personally or if the tenant cannot be found then to a family member over the age of 12. If personal service is not possible, the notice may be posted to a conspicuous place on the dwelling unit and a copy of the notice must be mailed via certified mail or through the Firm Mailing Book for Accountable Mail through the United States Post Office.

In the case of the landlord, the notice must be served personally. If service cannot be made personally then the notice must be mailed to the landlord via certified mail. Okla. Stat. tit. 41 § 111(E)

How are Month-to-Month Tenants Evicted in Oklahoma?

After the landlord gives proper notice, and that period of time elapses, the lease expires and is no longer active.

If a tenant remains on the property after lease expiry, the landlord may move forward with the eviction process to remove the tenant by filing a complaint with the applicable county court in Oklahoma. The process for eviction can be completed in 2-7 weeks, but can take longer depending on the circumstances.

For more information on the eviction process in Oklahoma, click here.