Illinois Eviction Notice Forms

Generate an official Illinois eviction notice.
Create Document

A Illinois eviction notice form for nonpayment of rent is a written document that states a tenant has 5 days to pay the rent or to vacate the premises. Additionally, there are other notice forms for other possible grounds for eviction in Illinois.

Read further to learn about what information is required on an eviction notice for it to be valid, legally acceptable ways of delivering notices, and types of notices for all possible grounds for eviction.

QUICK LINKS

Information Required for All Illinois Notices

Under Illinois law, a landlord is expected to provide some basic information on all eviction notices, including :

  • The date the tenancy will terminate
  • The reason for the eviction

It’s also a good idea to include the tenant’s name and contact information (if known) just to be sure the correct person receives the notice.

The landlord may also want to get the tenant’s signature confirming that they received the eviction notice, if the notice was hand delivered.

In addition, the landlord should keep the receipt number if the notice was delivered by certified mail.

Acceptable Ways of Delivering Notices

In the state of Illinois, landlords can deliver an eviction notice by any of the following methods :

  • Giving it to the tenant in person
  • Leaving the notice with someone over the age of 13 at the rental unit
  • Mailing the notice to the tenant via certified/registered mail
  • Posting the notice in a conspicuous place on the rental unit (only if no one can be found on the property)

Note that using certified/registered mail is only one option under Illinois law.

Types of Eviction Notices

Each possible ground for eviction has its own process and notice requirements.

5-Day Eviction Notice for Nonpayment of Rent

A landlord is allowed to evict a tenant for failing to pay rent on time.

According to Illinois law, rent is considered late the day after it’s due, and grace periods (if any) are addressed in the lease/rental agreement.

Once rent is past due, the landlord must provide tenants with a 5-Day Notice to Pay if the landlord wants to file an eviction action with the court. This notice gives the tenant the option to pay the past due amount in full within 5 days in order to avoid eviction.

If the tenant does not pay the rent due by the end of the notice period and remains on the property, the landlord may proceed with the eviction process.

According to Illinois law, the Eviction Notice for Nonpayment of Rent must include the following specific language:

“Only FULL PAYMENT of the rent demanded in this notice will waive the landlord’s right to terminate the lease under this notice, unless the landlord agrees in writing to continue the lease in exchange for receiving partial payment.”

Otherwise, if the landlord accepts payment for only part of the past-due amount owed, the eviction notice will become invalid and the landlord may not proceed with the eviction action.

It’s also a good idea to include the total amount of past-due rent owed.

Get the downloadable 5-Day Eviction Notice for Nonpayment Rent form template below (.pdf direct link).

10-Day Eviction Notice for Non-Compliance

A tenant can be evicted in Illinois if they do not uphold their responsibilities under the terms of a written lease/rental agreement.

Typical lease violations under this category could include things like damaging the rental property, having too many people residing in the rental unit, and having a pet when there’s a no-pet policy.

Illinois landlords must provide tenants with a 10-Day Notice to Quit, giving tenants 10 days to move out of the rental unit in order to avoid eviction.

The notice must include :

  • The specific lease violation(s)
  • The address of the rental unit
  • That the tenant has 10 days to move out of the rental unit
  • The signature of the landlord/landlord’s agent

If the tenant remains on the property after the notice period expires, the landlord may proceed with the eviction process.

Get the downloadable 10-Day Eviction Notice for Noncompliance form template below (.pdf direct link).

7/30/60-Day Lease Termination Notice for “At-Will” Tenants

In the state of Illinois, if tenants “hold over,” or stay in the rental unit after the rental term has expired, then the landlord must give tenants notice before evicting them. This can include tenants without a written lease and week-to-week and month-to-month tenants.

Often this type of eviction applies to tenants who are at the end of their lease and the landlord simply doesn’t want to renew the lease.

The amount of time required in the notice depends on the type of tenancy.

  • Week-to-week – If the tenancy is from week-to-week, a landlord must provide the tenant with a 7-Day Notice to Quit.
  • All other terms except year-to-year – If the tenancy is for any term less than one year but more than week-to-week, a landlord must provide the tenant with a 30-Day Notice to Quit.
  • Year-to-year – If the tenancy is from year to year, a landlord must provide the tenant with a 60-Day Notice to Quit.

If the tenant remains on the property after the notice period expires, the landlord may proceed with the eviction process.

Get the downloadable 7/30/60-Day Lease Termination Notice form template below (.pdf direct link).

90-Day Eviction Notice for Foreclosure of Rental Unit

If a rental property is foreclosed upon, and the tenancy will not be continued, the landlord/owner must provide the tenant with 90 days’ written notice in order to proceed with an eviction action.

The amount of notice is the same regardless of whether the tenant is week-to-week, month-to-month, or has a written lease.

If the tenant remains on the property after the notice period expires, the landlord may proceed with the eviction process.

The notice should include the date the tenancy will terminate.

Get the downloadable 90-Day Eviction Notice for Foreclosure form template below (.pdf direct link).

5-Day Eviction Notice for Illegal Activity

Tenants who are involved in illegal activity that constitutes a class X felony or other illegal activity must be given 5 days’ written notice before the landlord can proceed with an eviction action.

Class X felonies include, but are not limited to the following:

  • Aggravated kidnapping
  • Aggravated battery with a firearm
  • Aggravated battery of a child
  • Home invasion
  • Aggravated criminal sexual assault
  • Predatory criminal sexual assault of a child
  • Armed robbery
  • Aggravated vehicular hijacking
  • Aggravated arson
  • Possession of a controlled substance with intent to deliver

If the tenant remains on the property after the notice period expires, the landlord may proceed with the eviction process.

The notice must include the reason the tenant is being evicted, and it must be on specific forms provided by the county in which the rental unit is located.

Get the downloadable 5-Day Eviction Notice for Illegal Activity form template below (.pdf direct link).