If a rental property in Alaska fails to meet legally required health and safety standards, tenants have the right to report their landlord to local public officials who may choose to follow up, inspect the property and cite the landlord for such violations.
What Are Considered Unsafe Living Conditions in Alaska?
In Alaska, unsafe living conditions exist when a rental property doesn’t have safe and working:
- Hot water.
- Garbage receptacles and removal.
- Supplied facilities or appliances.
- Common areas.
- Anything impacting health, safety, or habitability.
A landlord’s direct or indirect interruption of utility services may qualify as an unsafe condition, along with any other issue that substantially impacts health and safety on a property.
What Should Tenants Do Before Reporting a Violation in Alaska?
In most cases, before reporting a violation, a tenant in Alaska must notify the landlord in writing about the issue and ask him to fix it within 10 days.
How Can Tenants Report a Violation in Alaska?
Alaska tenants should report violations to the local office or officers responsible for housing code enforcement. The exact process depends on municipality.
|Anchorage||Code Enforcement||Online Form|
|Fairbanks||Code Enforcement||Online Form|
|Juneau||Code Compliance Dep’t.||Online Form|
After receiving a complaint, an inspecting officer might contact the tenant for more information. Then the officer will usually inspect the property and cite the landlord for any code violations.
How Can a Tenant Report a Health or Safety Violation in Anchorage?
A tenant in Anchorage can report a health or safety violation by calling the Code Enforcement hotline at (907) 343-4141 or by using the online form. Enter contact information, briefly describe the issue and location, attach supplemental information, and submit.
How Can a Tenant Report a Health or Safety Violation in Fairbanks?
A tenant in Fairbanks can report a health or safety violation by calling Code Enforcement at (907) 459-1260 or by completing the online form and emailing a copy to the department. Make sure to fill out location, type, and description of violation as well as contact information.
How Can a Tenant Report a Health or Safety Violation in Juneau?
A tenant in Juneau can report a health or safety violation by calling the Code Compliance Officer at (907) 586-0752 or by using the online form. Enter location and complaint details, complete supplementary information requests, and submit.
What Could Happen to a Landlord After a Complaint Is Made in Alaska?
After an Alaska tenant files a complaint about unsafe living conditions, an officer may inspect the property, usually within 10 days. The landlord must fix noted code violations. Otherwise, the landlord could be fined and the local government might file to condemn the property.
- 1 Alaska Stat. § 34.03.100(a) (2021)
“The landlord shall (1) make all repairs and do whatever is necessary to put and keep the premises in a fit and habitable condition; (2) keep all common areas of the premises in a clean and safe condition; (3) maintain in good and safe working order and condition all electrical, plumbing, sanitary, heating, ventilating, air-conditioning, kitchen, and other facilities and appliances, including elevators, supplied or required to be supplied by the landlord; (4) provide and maintain appropriate receptacles and conveniences for the removal of ashes, garbage, rubbish, and other waste … and arrange for their removal; (5) supply running water and reasonable amounts of hot water and heat at all times, insofar as energy conditions permit… (6) if requested by the tenant, provide and maintain locks and furnish keys reasonably adequate … and (7) provide smoke detection devices and carbon monoxide detection devices as required under AS 18.70.095.”Source Link
- 2 Alaska Stat. § 34.03.210 (2021)
“If the landlord unlawfully removes or excludes the tenant from the premises or wilfully diminishes services to the tenant by interrupting or causing the interruption of electric, gas, water, sanitary, or other essential service to the tenant, the tenant may recover possession or terminate the rental agreement and, in either case, recover an amount not to exceed one and one-half times the actual damages. If the rental agreement is terminated, the landlord shall return all prepaid rent and security deposits recoverable by the tenant under AS 34.03.070.”Source Link
- 3 Alaska Stat. § 34.03.160(a) (2021)
“Except as provided in this chapter, if there is a material noncompliance by the landlord with the rental agreement or a noncompliance with AS 34.03.100 materially affecting health and safety, the tenant may deliver a written notice to the landlord specifying the acts and omissions constituting the breach and specifying that the rental agreement will terminate upon a date not less than 20 days after receipt of the notice if the breach is not remedied in 10 days…”Source Link
- 4 https://www.muni.org/Departments/OCPD/development-services/report-problem/Pages/Land-Use-Complaint-Process.aspx
See, e.g., Municipality of Anchorage, Land Use Complaint Process (accessed 10/18/22),Source Link